Filing Your Labor Board Complaint

Have a question about harassment, discrimination, wrongful termination, or retaliation? Please read:


File a Discrimination Claim

labor board complaint

Call (213) 992-3299 anytime. Free. Confidential. Hablamos Espanol.

WAGE CLAIMS (2019)

Studies show that as many as 4 out of 5 employees are the victims of wage theft. If your employer owes you money, you have the right to immediately file a labor board complaint against your employer and have your case heard by a California Labor Commissioner-appointed judge. The judge is authorized to issue a judgment against your employer awarding you unpaid wages, penalties, attorney fees and interest. The labor board does not charge any filing fees or other costs. California Labor Commissioner Julie Su has stated that she is committed to protecting the wage rights of undocumented or illegal immigrants. It is against the law for an employer to threaten employees based on their immigration status.

Under California labor laws and associated wage orders, employers are required to give non-exempt employees who work or reside in the State of California the following wage rights:

Rest Breaks

  • – a 10-minute paid rest break if you work more than 3.5 hours in a day
  • – a second 10-minute paid rest break if you work more than 6 hours in a day

Meal Breaks

  • – a 30-minute meal break if you work more than 5 hours in a day
  • – a second 30-minute meal break if you work more than 10 hours in a day

Overtime

  • – time and a half if you work
    • a) more than 8 hours in a day,
    • b) more than 40 hours in a week, or
    • c) seven days in a row in a work week
  • – double time if you work
    • a) more than 12 hours in a day, or
    • b) more than 8 hours on the seventh day in a row in a work week

Last Paycheck

If you have been terminated or laid off, you are entitled to receive your final wages upon termination or on your last day of work.

If you resign, you are entitled to receive your final paycheck within 72 hours after your last day of work.

You final wages must include any unpaid vacation pay (but not sick leave pay).

Tips

A manager or supervisor (even if part-time) is not legally allowed to take from your tips or the tip pool. The law treats this as tip theft.

Driving Mileage Reimbursements

If you are required to drive from your employer’s office to a job site, your employer is required to pay you a mileage reimbursement at the IRS standard mileage rate. As of January 1, 2018, that rate is 54.5 cents per mile. If your employer has failed to do this, your claim could be large – thousands of dollars.

Deductions

Your employer is not permitted to take deductions out of your paycheck unless you have agreed to it in writing. Even if your employer has loaned you money, he cannot make any deductions without your written consent. If this is occurring, you are entitled to recover not only the moneys that were deducted, but any attorney fees you have incurred.

Retaliation

If you complain to your employer or the Labor Board about any of the above wage violations, the law prohibits retaliation against you. Retaliation could include a reduction of your work hours, demotion, pay cuts, suspension, termination, etc. If you are the victim of retaliation, you are entitled to file a retaliation complaint with the California Labor Board.

FILING YOUR LABOR BOARD COMPLAINT (2019)

Filing a wage complaint with the California Department of Labor Standards Enforcement (otherwise known as the Labor Board or DLSE), can take as little as 30 minutes on the phone.

Even if you believe you are owed as little as a few hundred dollars, the penalties that apply under the California Labor Code can be thousands of dollars. Penalties include waiting time penalties, liquidated damages penalties, bounced check penalties, etc.

What You Need to File a Complaint

If you have any of the following documents, please have them ready when you call:

How Long the Complaint Process Takes

Resolving your wage complaint can take as little as a few weeks to as many as a few years. There are many factors involved, including how complicated your complaint is, how backlogged the commissioner and labor board office assigned to your case is, how willing your employer is to settle, whether your employer decides to appeal, etc.

The Steps in the Complaint Process

The first step is to fill out a Form 1 labor board complaint. You will typically need to also fill out a Form 55 attachment that sets out each amount you are owed for each pay period you worked for the employer. If you have a retaliation claim, you will also need to fill out a Form RCI-1.

If you need help with these forms, call us at (213) 992-3299 as the forms can be more complicated than they appear. Incorrect complaints are typically rejected by the labor board and need to be corrected before they can be re-filed. The re-filing process can take weeks or months. We can prepare the forms correctly for you in as little as a few hours.

Incorrectly filled out complaint

Same complaint after correction

In the above example, the claimant had submitted a complaint to the labor board that alleged only $1,274.97 in unpaid straight time and that lacked the required Form 55 calculation exhibit. After correction, an amended complaint was re-submitted that alleged $20,512.34 in unpaid straight time, overtime, meal and rest break premiums, liquidated damages, records penalties and waiting time penalties. In addition, required supporting calculation exhibits, including Form 55, were attached. The amended complaint package was accepted by the labor board.

Next, you need to file your complaint with the correct DLSE office. There are 18 regional DLSE offices assigned to the various cities in California. Which DLSE office you must apply to depends on which city you worked in. Again, this can be trickier than it first seems, as the office that is closest to the city where you worked isn’t always the correct DLSE office to file in. Also DLSE office city assignments are subject to change. Filing with the wrong DLSE office can cause months of delay and often requires that you simply re-file your complaint with the correct DLSE office.

If you need help with this, give us a call at (213) 992-3299. We can ensure your complaints are filed with the correct DLSE office.

After your complaint is filed, you will receive a notice of conference from the labor board, typically in 2 to 4 months. At the conference, which you, your employer, and/or your attorneys are required to attend, the commissioner will ask questions, confirm information, and finalize your labor board complaint, which you will then sign.

After that, the final hearing (trial) takes place, in as little as a few months to as long as 1 year after the conference. You will typically have to request subpoenas from the labor board and have them personally served on your employer and any witnesses to ensure you have the evidence you need to win your trial. At trial, you must present to the hearing officer a copy of all documents and provide all witnesses required to support your claim.

The hearing officer will issue an ODA (order, decision or adjudication) within 15 days after the trial (although in reality, the wait can be months). The parties will then have 10 to 15 days to appeal. If there is an appeal, the whole process starts completely over, except this time, your complaint is transferred from the labor board to a California State superior court.

If you have won your trial and/or any appeal, you will be issued a judgment. Then you must begin your collection efforts. The labor board typically does not assist you with collection, although it depends on your claim and your employer.

If you need assistance with any of the above, give us a call anytime at (213) 992-3299 and talk to an expert now.

DLSE Offices

Bakersfield
7718 Meany Ave
Bakersfield, CA 93308
(661) 587-3060

[email protected]

San Diego
7575 Metropolitan Dr.,
Room 210

San Diego, CA 92108
(619) 220-5451
[email protected]
El Centro
1550 W. Main St.
El Centro, CA 92243
(760) 353-0607
San Francisco
455 Golden Gate Ave.,
10th Floor

San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 703-5300
[email protected]
Fresno
770 E. Shaw Avenue,
Ste. 222

Fresno, CA 93710
(559) 244-5340

[email protected]

San Jose
100 Paseo de San Antonio,
Room 120

San Jose, CA 95113
(408) 277-1266
[email protected]
Long Beach
300 Oceangate,
Suite 302

Long Beach, CA 90802
(562) 590-5048
[email protected]
Santa Ana
605 West Santa Ana Blvd., Bldg. 28,
Room 625

Santa Ana, CA 92701
(714) 558-4910
[email protected]
Los Angeles
320 W. Fourth Street,
Suite 450

Los Angeles, CA 90013
(213) 620-6330
[email protected]
Santa Barbara
411 E. Canon Perdido,
Room 3

Santa Barbara, CA 93101
(805) 568-1222
PID 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM,
2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
[email protected]
Oakland
1515 Clay Street,
Suite 801

Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 622-3273
[email protected]
Santa Rosa
50 “D” Street,
Suite 360

Santa Rosa, CA 95404
(707) 576-2362
PID 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM,
2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
[email protected]
Redding
250 Hemsted Drive,
2nd Floor, Suite A

Redding, CA 96002
(530) 225-2655
PID 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM,
2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
[email protected]
Stockton
31 E. Channel Street,
Room 317

Stockton, CA 95202
(209) 948-7771
PID Hours effective 5/1/18
9:00 AM – 1:00 PM,
2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
[email protected]
Sacramento
2031 Howe Avenue,
Suite 100

Sacramento, CA 95825
(916) 263-1811
[email protected]
Van Nuys
6150 Van Nuys Blvd.,
Room 206

Van Nuys, CA 91401
(818) 901-5315
[email protected]
Salinas
950 E. Blanco Rd.,
Suite 204

Salinas, CA 93901
(831) 443-3041
PID 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM,
2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
[email protected]
Van Nuys – Entertainment Work Permits
6150 Van Nuys Blvd.,
Room 100

Van Nuys, CA 91401
(818) 901-5484
Walk In Service Available At This Location:
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. – Monday and Friday
9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. – Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday
San Bernardino
464 W. Fourth Street,
Room 348

San Bernardino, CA 92401
(909) 383-4334
[email protected]
Client Review
Date
Review
I had a very good experience with California Labor & Employment Law. My attorney was very knowledgeable about laws, was courteous, but was also ferocious when dealing with my ex-employer.
Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

220 Comments

  1. David Johnston on August 21, 2019 at 2:38 pm

    I was terminated on 8/16/2019 by my paperwork yet did not receive my final check until 8/20/2019 also was never suspended during their “investigation ” along with other various foul ups . Is there a penalty for withholding my check for 4 days , if so how do I file it

  2. debra on August 3, 2019 at 10:35 pm

    i used to work as a shift supervisor for a mcdonalds corp. restaurant in los angeles ca. whenever we suoervisors have to.do classes is we need to travel to chatsworth to do classes if not we will be demoted. they never reimbursed me for any mileage used and was not allowed to clock in during the travel to chatsworth by the store.manager and was only paid 5 hours for doing the classes and driving to and back. and also i notice a check issued under my name last oct. 2017 that i didnt recieve i called payroll.and was told check was cashed out and recieved a copy of the signed checked and im 120!% sure its not my signature. and also i do closing shift and on my break time im not allowed to leave the premises and sometime needed to work even im clock out from my break and sometimes forget to clock back in due to many customers specially fri and sat. i really want to sue them i need help.

  3. Phillip bolding on July 31, 2019 at 10:13 am

    I had a heat issue my first day back with this company and was sick the next day and the dispatch/office manager was very rude and demanded I be on site or else the next morning. I was sick still from the heat and contacted the owner and he said to get better and he would see me tomorrow. I then received text messages fromthe manager again that were less then friendly so I told her I will communicate with Roger from now on and then she told me I’m done and its over so I asked when I would be paid for the first day the manager replied if you don’t have some app on my phone to verify work I wont be paid. I have saved text messages between her and myself as well as messages I sent the owner with no response. All I wanna know is when I will be paid? It has been very a month and nothing. And when I call them they have me blocked. What can I do?

  4. MONICA on July 16, 2019 at 9:14 am

    Hello,

    My coworkers and I work for a small business in Crestline, CA. I have worked here since 2015 and have never been allowed to take my 10 min rest breaks or clock out for lunch, our lunches have been on the clock up until 07/10/2019 when my employer finally “spoke” with her lawyer and realized that yes we should be clocking out and yes we are allowed breaks, because this is a small business do the labor laws in California apply, she never mentioned anything about including our premium pay in this pay periods check so I wasn’t sure if this is something we can file a complaint for… HELP!

  5. Carlos A Hernandez on July 2, 2019 at 2:06 pm

    I have a huge problem I have become the victim of discrimination,retaliation,but I can’t get help because the labor board has become part of the problem,I filed a claim agianst my ex employer for wage theft. I recieved a letter for settlement by labor board when I went to the settlement conference. I was told at the conference that my boss wanted to take me to court hearing. I was told to fill out paper work all over again and givin a specific way to do it,which I did. I turned the paper work in and was told it was not correctly filled out. The commissioner said she would correct the errors on the form and have me sign them and then process them. A year later there was a hearing at the labor board that I won. It took 7 months to get the decision of the hearing instead of the 10 days. When I read the notes on the back of the decision of award it’s said that I had already recieved 89,000 from my employer for the back pay and over time and was awarded 55,000 from the hearing. I never got the 89,000 the labor board is saying I got.and now it’s been several months since I recieved the letter after the hearing. I had a lawyer review the papers I was sent and he said the labor board is to file the forms with the courts so that the judgement becomes final and I can go after my boss for my money. But now when I call the labor board I’m told my case can’t be found or givin the run around. During the time I started my claim until now iv been harassed by the people my ex employer hired I have sent the labor board proof of the harassment and retaliation. The commissioner accidentally sent me a message that was ment for her boss. In the message she says that I have sent her proof of the retaliation and that she was not goin to look at it. And then asked her boss what she should do about the situation. It’s been working on 4 years since the claim I am now homeless lost my kids lost everything and can’t get no answers. I also was Injured on the job and can’t work. I can’t get workers comp because the labor board won’t help even though I won my case and was deemed a employee. And still being discriminated against. The people who retaliated for my ex employer are related to police officers and the officers were used I believe in goin to labor board the day of settlement conference and intercepted the money. And the labor board is trying to cover it up by saying I recieved the money and now they can’t find my case. I kno for a fact the money was stolen for my ex employer

    • Jose James fajardo on July 9, 2019 at 3:25 pm

      My name is Jose James Fajardo state case number 12-102947 back in October 2 2017 a hearing was conducted for unpaid wages going back may,30-june2 2017 against grossmark received a letter that was dated December 20 2017 that I was awarded for the amount of 439501 signed by Michael Espino Tellez hearing officer received a letter from superior court dated August 6 2018 court number18cljo 4204 signed by Michael Espino Tellez was to receive 4.661.04 signed by Rosilina R CCatalano clerk signed by Antonio R Geronimo deputy cleck that’s the last contact I had with anyone would like to know if there is anything further I need to do to receive my settlement thank you

  6. Vinay on June 24, 2019 at 12:39 pm

    I’m an international student on OPT. I worked with Silicon Technologies LLC, Irvine, CA from 03/01/2017 to 01/04/2019 as an Associate Project Manager at Client location – Toyota HQ, Plano, TX.
    Due to irregular payments I quit this company with a notice period of above 10 days. It’s been over 6 months and I haven’t received my final paycheck yet.
    After several conversations with Company director “Manish Jain” is now stating that My timecard was incorrect and can only pay when my time card is turned in. They own me for 122 hours with agreed billing rate of 33/hr.

    Need your advice to move further.

  7. Elvira Aguilera on June 5, 2019 at 1:04 pm

    Nesecito ayuda por favor

  8. cynthia arenbart on May 15, 2019 at 9:18 am

    While employed at Regenerate Med Spa boss Brendan Bakir shorted wages, did not want to pay co workers overtime and shorted my last check. He is in violation of HIPPA laws and files fake claims to insurance for his spine business.

  9. Amy C Angulo on May 7, 2019 at 1:45 am

    I work in a prison as a contracted medical staff (registered nurse). We are now required to clear security, pass through 9 locked doors, pull keys from a key watch and pass through the main corridor, all before being allowed to clock in. Our employer does not provide a time clock at the front entrance and we have to go back to the medical department to log on. This process happens in reverse on the way out. We clock out, pass through the main corridor,return keys, clear security, all while off the clock. This results in as many as 20 minuted lost per day. The process is horrible for lunches as well. We clock out, often taking 5 minutes to get to the front door and losing the same upon return, so our 30 minute lunch is now 20 minutes. I have asked my employer to place a time clock at the front entrance and their response is that we don’t have enough employees to justify that. I can’t believe that this is legal under California labor laws. Can you please advise? Thanks for your time.

  10. Sandy on April 30, 2019 at 1:57 pm

    I worked as a contractor for a private start up. They actually kept crossing the line between employee/contractor, and I politely corrected them , stating that they needed to do one or the other (dictate hours worked, how the work would be done, with what tools (even against our recommendations as contractor) . I paid my own taxes, insurance, etc. So that part was covered as a contractor. The company (because they kept changing how things were done and tools to use) ran out of money about 6/7th of the way through the project. I was not paid from Sept-December for work completed. In Dec I was asked /begged to continue to work that they had “MOUs or LOIs” in place and if we stopped work , it would affect those $20M deals. To sweeten the incentive he told us we would all get a small % per week of unpaid wages if we continued work on the project. Additionally he has repeatedly failed to secure investment $$ in part due to false/fraudulent claims, related to IP ownership, and product capabilities grossly over exaggerated. We have (in writing ) presented to him the problems and rprovided wording and data to make changes on his website as well as in the investor prospectus so to reflect the true capability of the product (Which is still a viable product with a good investment perspective) .
    In December the 27 contractors agreed among each other to stop work until we were paid. Several have suggested a suit or filing against this person, who has millions in personal assets so can back up what he owes us. He has a LLC we believe he is going to close down to avoid paying. We have endured months and months of lies. Is filing through CA Labor a good option or is this more of a lawsuit case?

  11. Veda Boniface on April 22, 2019 at 9:04 pm

    We got discharged in January and yet have we received what was suppose to be give. To us as well as reimbursements that were promised if we paid our own money.

  12. Catherine Dawson on April 19, 2019 at 10:12 am

    Is there a time limit to file a claim on income earned but not paid? I worked hourly and was also paid commission. I have been told by the administrative person different times frames as to when I can collection my commissions. Commissions were paid monthly and if one of my sales did not stay on the books a total of 6 months, I would lose all or a portion of the commission depending when sale dropped off within the 6 months. This amount is $950 to $1,500 owed to me. It has now been 9 months and each time I speak to the administrator, he changes the time line as to how long I need to wait.
    Thank you,
    Catherine Dawson

  13. Diana carranza on March 27, 2019 at 8:56 pm

    No comment

  14. Gamaliel Bailon on March 18, 2019 at 6:10 pm

    I have work for this company and offten I received call when I was off the clock but I never received any money from my company from the call the always call me.

  15. Denise Almanza on February 22, 2019 at 8:38 am

    I have never received my rest breaks since I started working in April 2017 and I work 10-12 hour days with times I didn’t have lunch and he would only pay me time and half for overtime but not double time when I worked 12 hours and in Friday’s we never took lunch and he didn’t pay us for it .

  16. Marcy Wilkerson on February 19, 2019 at 5:42 pm

    My time card was submitted by a coworker before it was completed. I did not realize it until I received my paycheck. It was 21 hours short. I immediately contacted my employer and informed her of the shortage. She was quite angry with me over it, and proceeded to yell at me and tell me I screwed up her payroll and hung up on me. Before she hung up on me I asked her if she intended to pay me for those hours, and she said yes, she was going to pay me. I waited for the next two weeks and never received a check. On the last day of the next pay period, I was told that my employer was leaving the country the next day. I texted her and told her I had heard she was leaving and wanted to make sure that someone in payroll was aware of the hour shortage. she did not reply. When the next paycheck arrived, the hours were not added to my regular pay.I called the payroll assistant that day and she said she had just got back from vacation and knew nothing about it, but she would look into it and get back to me on the following Monday. The following Monday came and went, and no phone call from the payroll assistant. And no call from the assistant for the rest of that week. At the end of that week I contacted the Administration Manager and filled him in on the situation and he said he would look into it. He got back to me, and said he had spoke with her, and she said she had looked at my time card and it looked like I was paid for all hours worked.
    Well no kidding!
    Had she called me I would have explained the situation to her but she did not. At that point, The Administration Manager said the owner would be back on the following Monday and he would speak with her then. That Monday (yesterday) she did not come in to the office. Today, the Administration Manager called me and said he had not spoke with her yet because she was really busy,
    It is now past the end of the business day and I have not heard a word.
    At this time, I am living paycheck to paycheck. That 21 hours was the difference between having power and not having power at my house. My PG & E was cut off due to non payment. I used my cell phone money to get my power back on. Now my phone is off
    At what point do I stop patiently waiting?

  17. Michael Harbin on February 16, 2019 at 8:38 am

    I recently received resigned from my company of 22 years on Feb 4 2019 giving them almost 2 weeks notice and today is the 15 th of February and I have not received my final pay including overtime and PTO vacation that is owed to me. I completed my exit with my manager and signed off on documents and turned in my employee badge. I called payroll dept last Thursday Feb 13 th and the payroll rep said that they have not received any documentation regarding my resignation. Do I need to seek legal counsel at this point if another week goes by. Your assistance would be greatly appreciated.

  18. Brianna Monteon on February 8, 2019 at 3:58 pm

    I have reached out to my management team , I have gone up the latter, and I have reached HR and they have not taken the concern seriously and I have not received any answers to my compensation of the two days I wasn’t able to take my lunch pass my 5th hour. One was on a separate pay check and the other is a current meal violation

  19. Celso Lat on February 3, 2019 at 9:55 pm

    Me and my wife worked at Mountain View Cottages for more than 3 years but we were not compensated for the work we have done,that’s why we brought our problems to the concerned government agency which is the Labor Department.

  20. Rudy Crespo on January 21, 2019 at 1:07 am

    I was terminated 10/19/18. Since that date i have gone through the union grievance process and am now waiting for it to go to a panel for a final decision. My employer claims my termination as gross negligence. My situation is as stated. On 10/6, 10/9 and 10/10 of 2018 i showed up to work like any normal day on time but my employer failed to provide work uniforms like they were suppose to (Stated in our union rules Stipulation). I notified my immediate supervisors on all three days that i did not have a work uniform. i was ignored and given no direction or guidance when i addressed the issue and work for that day. I waited 4 hours at my work site and then i went home due to being ignored. I made the attempt to correct the issue but got nowhere. The supervisors that where interview lied on their statements and claimed that i did have uniforms available. Multiple coworkers confirmed that there was uniforms but management refused to listen. I would really appreciate some feed back on my current situation. Thank You..

  21. sue burns on January 15, 2019 at 11:56 am

    my name is sue burns i worked for riverside county bar assoc for 20 years after 18 years and because i was 74 they reduced ny pay from 26.24 to 19,64 with the same job title and responsbilities i was a bookkeeper and manage their commercial building, the director constantly insulted me intimidated me wvery day because she wanted me to quit, she told me often that i made to much. many times she would ask or demand that i work my lunch after i clocked out. i was the only employee who had hourly pay reduced she was trying to make me quit. she also stated at the same time by reducing my pay she could give her self and other employees a 5% raise. she forced me to retire on august 16, 2018 after 20 years the stress of her demeaning and threats, and insults, her yelling and her bad temper i became very sick was hospitalized with a perforated ulcer and had to blood transfusions. the overall was she was a bully, i was the only employee she did this to. do i have a claim. thank you

    • Christina on July 31, 2019 at 4:39 pm

      I went on medical leave January 17 2019 and returned back to work March 12 2019, upon my return I found the Company hired someone in my place the next day. I remained in contact with HR to keep her abreast of the situation so they knew I was coming back. When I did get back to work the owner sat down with me and told me he didn’t need me and was obligated to keep me. From there I was kept out of the operation purposely, retaliated against, my work equipment was not returned to me, leaving me at a total disconnect, they hindered me from doing my job properly I sent several emails with my concerns. I was terminated 4 months after my return. Those months were a hostile work environment for me where I was harassed and my every move was wrong no matter what it was. There’s so much more that transpired in that time frame.

  22. Richard LaCasse on January 13, 2019 at 11:39 am

    Since September, 2018, I have been Executive Chef / Culinary Department Manager at a remote location in Garberville. Yesterday, January 12, I was told I was being terminated. I have received nothing but compliments on my food and my management of the department. When I asked why I was being terminated, I was told “It’s not personal,” and I was given no reason, despite asking why multiple times, the employer claimed they didn’t need a reason, because California is an “at will” employment state. Do I have grounds for wrongful termination?

  23. CAROL C FITCHETT on January 9, 2019 at 10:17 am

    I am an exempt full time employee and my employer cut my 2019 sick days by 12 hours, saying they over paid me sick time in 2018 so there just going to take it from 2019 “To make it fair for everybody” i did not give any consent for them to do this, and i did not know they over paid me sick time until the beganing of 2019. i believe i am being violated under the paid sick article.

  24. Bryan Galindo on January 7, 2019 at 12:54 pm

    I just want what was promised I been waiting for 3 weeks now they said at orientation when they asked us if we wanted to relocate closer to work we wouldn’t get the bonus because beach was the only center approved for that ,That if they even tried to submit it wouldn’t get approved because I didn’t work for the beach one I said they should of told me personally because I didn’t hear them say no such thing I would’ve stayed at the beach center if that was the case

  25. Cindy Vissering on December 30, 2018 at 11:10 am

    I recently received a check from Wal-Mart for pro in the amount of 4.44 for pto. My last check was in June when I left the company. Am I entitled to penalty fees for them not including the pto in my final check in June?

    • Eugene Lee on December 31, 2018 at 2:35 pm

      Yes you are, it should be the maximum waiting time penalty.

  26. Marc Telav on December 27, 2018 at 7:46 pm

    Hello,

    I became sick while on the job (not the job’s fault for the sickness), but I told my supervisor and she told me she needed to talk to me for 5 minues and inferred I could leave after that. I stayed much longer than 5 minutes. In fact, I stayed as long as I could but, my sickness became so intense, I felt I had to leave.
    My question: Can the supervisor force me to stay at the job and work after I tell the supervisor I felt sick and I needed
    to leave. I would understand not paying me for leaving the job early. But, can the supervisor keep me at work after I tell them I really feel sick? Please know that I never had to leave work early due to sickness before under this supervisor who has been there for about three years. Was my rights violated to try and keep me working when sick?

  27. Kimberly S Sanchez on December 27, 2018 at 10:48 am

    I was offered an apartment included in my offer letter as part of my employment package. I moved out of the apartment and was asked to return the apartment. I moved out in September and I still have not been compensated. Is this considered theft and if so, do they owe me wages?

  28. Angela Johnson on December 19, 2018 at 8:48 pm

    None at this time

  29. Gustavo rodriguez on December 13, 2018 at 10:20 am

    I have other questions that I would like to ask regarding taxes but don’t know who to contact.

  30. Michael Higginbotham Sr. on December 9, 2018 at 12:43 pm

    I worked for a security company here in Northern California which has a bad history of paying there officers late. We were supposed to be paid on 11/30/18 which included holiday pay for Thanksgiving our supervisor claimed she did not know what was going on with our checks so we waited until 12/01/18 and still had not got paid nor could we contact the office or higher ups later on that night I found out the company closed its doors due to going bankrupt and did no say one work to we officers. My supervisor told us that a sister company picked up current contracts and would offer us a payroll advance in leu of the past pay we did not get. Needless to say the new company backed out of that offer still expected us to work and in the old company uniforms I almost forgot to mention my supervisor to me she did get the offered payroll advancement and was disciplined for telling officers she received hers while officers like myself are living pay to pay and possibly evicted behind not getting paid.. HELP PLEASE This issues affects about 20 officers

  31. Joaquin on November 28, 2018 at 7:21 pm

    And I thought the min wage was 13.25 in Los Angeles county.

    • Eugene Lee on November 28, 2018 at 7:48 pm

      Yes, but only for unincorporated cities. Redondo and Manhattan Beach are incorporated cities so they fall under the minimum wage for the State of California generally.

  32. mel G. on November 28, 2018 at 12:09 pm

    I was hired as a full time employee and iam lucky if 30 hrs a week.
    I have been job harassment by the owner several times .
    The car iam driving is dirty bad carpet has a mold.unhealthy car to use for business .
    Take out numbers of time hours from my time sheet.

  33. Joaquin Moraga on November 27, 2018 at 8:38 pm

    I work at a dry cleaners. Found the job on Craigslist promising 13$ per hour full time. Been getting paid 12$ per hour and I’d be EXTREMELY lucky if I’ve worked 30+ hours in a week. Now I’m at different store but same owner in Redondo Beach. My manager had said Manhattan beach specifically has a lowered min wage. Well even if that’s so, well I’m in Redondo Beach store now. I’ve only been working at this company for about 3 months. I wanna know what’s the real min wage for Manhattan beach and Redondo Beach? If I’m making less then min wage what are my options? Mind you this company has more then 25 employees so they are considered a larger company.

    • Eugene Lee on November 27, 2018 at 8:43 pm

      Minimum wage for Manhattan Beach and Redondo Beach is the same: $11 for large employers, $10.50 for small employers (25 employees or less) since 1/1/18. At $12/hr, you are making more than the minimum wage for large employers. So I don’t think there’s a minimum wage violation here. However, if you were promised $13/hr but only paid $12/hr, you could have a claim for the $1/hr difference.

      • Joaquin on November 28, 2018 at 7:17 pm

        I have the .org posting from Craigslist that states the job offering was at 13$ per hour full time. And after working more then a week I realized I was being paid only 12. I would like to see how much opening a case could be worth if possible

        And thank you for such a quick response

  34. Christopher Ulm on November 11, 2018 at 3:58 pm

    No Comment

  35. Jocelynne Dunlap on November 8, 2018 at 1:04 pm

    In the other section I didn’t have enough room to explain the suspect time clock procedure, I have complained and tolerated this for over a year now, even while I was at their Mazda store, which was worse. Please call and I will provide more details.

  36. Jocelynne Dunlap on November 8, 2018 at 1:01 pm

    In the other section I didn’t have enough room to explain the suspect time clock procedure, I know this affects other employees not just me.

  37. Venia Royston on November 1, 2018 at 5:42 pm

    I am wondering if I have a case. On 10-5-2018 I clocked in @ 9am. My manager nd HR Manager came about 10:30a, stating they were there to complete an Compliance Audit. They ended up suspending me, claiming until they complete the audit, they did not provide me with any documentation as to why I was being suspended. I have worked there for almost two years, have never had any disciplinary documentation written on me, my performance or anything else. The new manager has been discriminatory against me (African American women over 40yrs) since she came on board. Someone removed my 9a punch, so when payroll ran 10/8/2018 my 8 hours of pay was not included. Then they decided they were going to terminate me on 10/12/2018, however I never received my wages for 10/5/2018. Isn’t there a waiting period penalty up to 30 days where I am entitled to my regular pay for everyday I wait to receive my pay? Please help!

Leave a Comment